All Updates

320 entries found
15 Nov 2018 description


15°24’0”S 167°50’0”E Summit 4908ft (1496m)

Current Vanuatu Volcano Alert Level: Level 2

Ambae volcano is continuing in the level of major unrest state. The Volcanic Alert Level remains at Level 2.

09 Oct 2018 description

Situation Overview

  • In late September the Vanuatu Meteorology & Geo-Hazards Department (VMGD) decreased the Ambae Volcano activity to level 2. There is no evidence that the activity level will further decrease in the short term.

  • COM decision 149/2018 approved the Maewo Chiefs Plan (Plan A) to adopt Ambae evacuated families on a case by case, family and community basis into Maewo tribe.

09 Oct 2018 description

Ambae people displaced by volcano offered land on Maewo

Two landmark ceremonies orchestrated by the Chiefs of Maewo on 2 and 3 October 2018 will now ensure that the people of Ambae could begin using the land for both food production and construction of shelters in two relocation sites – Sanasum and Naruru.

08 Oct 2018 description

Total number of consultations and reporting rate: There is increased in total number of consultation from 2,305 consultation in epiweek 38 to 2,798 consultation in epiweek 39, with decreased in reporting rates from 73% in epiweek 38 to 45% in epiweek 39 from the sentinel sites.

01 Oct 2018 description

Situation Overview

  • Council of Ministers (COMs) decision 149/2018 extended the State of Emergency on the island of Ambae until the 26th November 2018.

  • The COMs decision have also approved the Maewo Chiefs Plan (Plan A) to adopt Ambae Evacuated families into the Maewo tribes, on a case by case, family, community basis through customary adoption and integration for the families to be resettled in Maewo.

Maps & Infographics

36 entries found