Govt. South Africa
Government based in South Africa

All Updates

207 entries found
20 Jan 2019 description

The Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries (DAFF) has reiterated that no live cloven hooved animals may be moved within the area affected by foot and mouth disease (FMD) in Vhembe District.

This follows the outbreak of FMD in Vhembe and Capricorn Districts in Limpopo.

“No live cloven hooved animals are allowed to move into, within, through and out of the area. Law enforcement has been reinforced and any animals found to be moved around will be confiscated by the police and destroyed,” the department said.

02 Jan 2019 description

Wednesday, January 2, 2019 With about 70 houses flooded in Sebokeng, south of Johannesburg, following heavy rain in Gauteng, the Emfuleni Local Municipality has provided affected residents temporary shelter.

Affected residents have been provided with shelter at the nearby Tshepo-Themba Secondary School where blankets and mattresses have been provided.

Floods caused massive damage, eroding roads and destroying retaining walls in many of the homes in Zones 6, 3 and 13 and surrounding areas.

07 Sep 2018 description

Government representatives from 14 Southern Africa and Indian Ocean Island States, gathered in Pretoria, South Africa, from 04 to 07 September 2018 for the 18th Edition of the Annual Regional Seminar on the implementation of International Humanitarian Law (IHL) co-hosted by the Department of International Relations and Cooperation of the Republic of South Africa and the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC). The seminar was held under the theme "Regional contributions to the implementation and development of IHL."

14 Feb 2018 description


The Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (CoGTA), Mr Des van Rooyen in his capacity as the chairperson of the Inter-Ministerial Task Team (IMTT) on drought and water scarcity welcomed the reclassification of drought as a national disaster.

Following the announcement by the IMTT on 09 February 2018, the National Disaster Management Centre (NDMC), reclassified drought as a national disaster and a notice to this effect was published in Government Gazette No 414389, dated 13 February 2018.

13 Oct 2017 description

KwaZulu-Natal Premier Willies Mchunu has declared the province a disaster area.

“We must also indicate that the executive council will submit an application to national government for classification and declaration of a disaster as a provincial disaster in terms of the section 41 of the Disaster Management Act, since it affects more than one district,” said Premier Mchunu.

The declaration of a disaster area paves the way for Provincial Treasury to reprioritise the provincial budget and redirect funds towards the rebuilding of the province.