DR Congo + 2 more

Virunga Region Locator - Volcano Nyirangongo (17 January 2001)

Originally published


This map shows principal roads, locations of towns, national boundaries, rivers and lakes, and the names of the volcanoes in the Virunga range. It also shows the location of the boundaries established in 1925 for the national park. When it was first created, the park was under Belgian and British control. Later, when Rwanda, Congo (formerly Zaire), and Uganda gained independence in the early 1960s, the park was split into three sections. Use and/or preservation of the area was divided between three governments, each with its own problems and policies. The map also shows the locations of several refugee camps set up in Congo (formerly Zaire) in summer and fall 1994 when 2 million Hutu fled Rwanda to escape the victorious Tutsi armies. Kibumba was the largest of these camps, containing in excess of 200,000 refugees. The land around Kibumba is barren volcanic rock. Between 1994 and 1996, the refugees depended on international charities for food, and on the forest on the slopes of the nearby active volcano Nyiragongo for fuel and building materials.