1 entry found
Sort by: Latest |Relevance
17 Jan 2001 description

This map shows principal roads, locations of towns, national boundaries, rivers and lakes, and the names of the volcanoes in the Virunga range. It also shows the location of the boundaries established in 1925 for the national park. When it was first created, the park was under Belgian and British control. Later, when Rwanda, Congo (formerly Zaire), and Uganda gained independence in the early 1960s, the park was split into three sections. Use and/or preservation of the area was divided between three governments, each with its own problems and policies.